Mercian Declaration of Independence



If you live in Mercia, please register as a Mercian citizen by filling in the form below. To be eligible, you need to be living in one of the following twenty Mercian shires:

Bedfordshire, Buckinghamshire, Cambridgeshire, Cheshire, Derbyshire, Gloucestershire, Herefordshire, Hertfordshire, Huntingdonshire, Leicestershire, Lincolnshire, Middlesex, Northamptonshire, Nottinghamshire, Oxfordshire, Rutland, Shropshire, Staffordshire, Warwickshire and Worcestershire.

If you live outside Mercia and wish to apply for Mercian citizenship, you should apply for this to the Acting Witan of Mercia, stating the reasons why you feel that you should be granted citizenship. The form below enables you to do that.


The Register of
the Citizens of Mercia

‘I claim legal citizenship of Mercia and I hereby declare that I acknowledge the Constitution of Mercia as the ultimate legal authority in the region and I recognise the Acting Witan of Mercia as the ultimate lawful authority co-ordinating the transfer of effective power to the people of the region acting through their local communities.’

Would you like to receive email communications from us in future? These would normally be news items relating to our events, updates on the numbers of citizens etc. You will be able to unsubscribe whenever you wish to.

Or, you can email your Registration by clicking here:

Citizen’s Registration Form

Type to complete the document and attach it to an email with the Subject: Citizen’s Registration Form, addressed to: